For some areas hit by NSW flood crisis, it's the fourth disaster in a year

by Josh Nicholas and Nick Evershed

24 March 2021

The New South Wales government has declared a natural disaster in 24 local government areas that also experienced floods or storms in 2019/20. Six of those areas also had more than 40% of their area burned at the end of 2019.

A Guardian Australia analysis of areas affected by multiple disasters shows that NSW contains 19 of the top 20 Australian local government areas affected by a combination of fire, flood, drought and storms. This is up from 15 in December.

On top of the natural disasters, they had to contend with the effects of the coronavirus pandemic.

Read more